The Vander Ende-Onderdonk House is the oldest Dutch Colonial stone house in New York City. The stone house, with its iconic Dutch style gambrel roof, was built in 1709. The wood-frame addition was built in the 1820s, torn down in the 1940s, and rebuilt in 1981. Dormer windows appeared on the roof around 1915. A brick facade was added on to the front of the house in the late 1940s. In 1975, a devastating fire destroyed the gambrel roof and the house’s interior. The house was restored in 1981. In present day, the house operates as a historic house museum and as the homebase for the Greater Ridgewood Historical Society.

 

                                                                                                                Emily Caspari, Pratt Institute, Spring 2019